The Simon Parkin mens’ singles trophy

A warm Sunday, 21 July and eight members fought for the annual mens’ singles trophy. The event was well organised by Peter Raper with the preliminary singles played on the North and South lawns. The eight entrants, in alphabetical order, were: Keith Burt, Chris Fuller, Robert Johnston, Colin Lacey, Peter Raper, Paul Robinson, David Russell and Brian Shipman. The earlier rounds ended up with two players winning all three of their matches and two players winning two. The latter were decided on count-back on points for and against.

Semi finalist in match one were Keith and Paul with Keith as the eventual winner. The second semi final was a close fought match between Peter and David with Peter the winner.

The “Gallery” during a pause between semi-finals

The final, Between Keith and Peter, went down the Golden Hoop with Keith the eventual winner with a fine long yellow ball to hoop and take the tankard.

Joyce presenting Keith with the Simon Parkin Tankard