Annual General Meeting – 8 March 2023

The C&FCC – Top Table “Brains Trust”: John Effingham, David Russell, Joyce Parkin and Paul Robinson

Winning both the Centenary Cup in Littlehampton and the West Sussex Golf Croquet Handicap League was a highlight of Chichester and Fishbourne Croquet Club’s 2022 season.

The recent annual meeting (March 8) was told that the club was now competing for the National Federation Shield.

Chairman David Russell thanked the committee who had worked tirelessly throughout the year.

Finances were healthy and there was a co-ordinated programme of maintenance and coaching. Plans included the renewal of the aging wooden clubhouse.

Winners of the 2022 club competitions were: Ladies’ singles, Jane Gribbon, runner-up Janet Mellor; Staniland trophy, David Russell, runner-up Tony Elkin; Men’s singles, Keith Burt, runner-up Tony Hicks; Kettle Shield mixed doubles, Sally Short, runner-up Keith Burt; the Shipman Fishbourne Trophy, John Henly, runners-up Peter Moran and Lynne Lyle; Chairman’s Cup for  outstanding contribution to the club, Keith Burt; Secretary’s cup for the most improved player, Martin Emmett; Ladder competition winners, John Effingham and Lynne Lyle.

 Some of Chichester and Fishbourne Croquet Club’s 2022 season trophy winners are pictured at the club’s annual meeting. They are, from left, Sally Short, John Effingham, David Russell, John Henly and Jane Gribbon.

Report by Eve Fuller